cineml
May 19 2005, 09:50 AM
I run the cinematography mailing list, it has been reported to abuse@hostway.co.uk as a spam abuser.
Apparently reported by David Wing dwing@earthlink.net
Here is my reply to Hostway:-
David Wing is subscribed to 14 of the lists that I run.
He has joined voluntarily, we NEVER add anyone to the lists that does not ask.
In fact it is inherent in the system that nobody EVER gets e-mail from our lists until they return a confirmation email to us, our system then checks that the address is the same as the subscribed one.
David Wing signed up for these lists in November 2001 !!
It's taken him a long time to object to them!!
On the bottom of every message we send out is a link that people can hit to unsubscribe themselves.
I have deleted David Wing from all our lists.
cineml
May 19 2005, 09:56 AM
Cinematography.net is a long established, November '96, source of information for cinematographers.
We currently have 3,000+ members worldwide.
Our website, based on the information exchanged on the mailing list, has approximately 1,000 pages of information useful to film makers.
This kind of abuse of an abuse reporting system is appalling.
Geoff Boyle FBKS
www.cinematography.net
Eddie
May 19 2005, 12:09 PM
Hi Geoff,
Have you tried contacting David Wing directly?
If he indeed sent the report there is always the chance that he reported you by mistake.
When I check my email it passes through 2 or 3 filtering programs(POPmonitor, SpamSieve some times, and Sp@mX) and then I double-check each spam email before sending a report. Still, I can see how a regular email could be mistakenly reported as spam, especially if the person making the report receives a large amount of email.
While I don't know David, you'll find that most Sp@mX users are concerned about fighting spam and doing it responsibly. It might have been an honest mistake.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.