Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Please help me understand this reply.
hsc message board > Main > hsc Software Support
Codger
I got theis relpy:
QUOTE
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at xuxa.iecc.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<ct-abuse@abuse.sprint.net>:
199.0.233.6 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 <ct-abuse@abuse.sprint.net>... Access denied Giving up on 199.0.233.6.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <me@MyISP.com>
Received: (qmail 7615 invoked by uid 170); 23 Sep 2004 14:49:46 -0000
Delivered-To: abuse-special-CTSUMMARY@special.abuse.net
Received: (qmail 7613 invoked from network); 23 Sep 2004 14:49:45 -0000
Received: from rwcrmhc12.comcast.net (216.148.227.85)
  by mail2.iecc.com with SMTP; 23 Sep 2004 14:49:45 -0000
Date: Thu, 23 Sep 2004 14:49:43 +0000 (GMT)
X-Comment: Sending client does not conform to RFC822 minimum requirements
X-Comment: Date has been added by Maillennium
Received: from myusername (h0002b34bf30f.ne.client2.attbi.com[66.30.24.21])
          by comcast.net (rwcrmhc12) with SMTP
          id <20040923144943014005232ne>; Thu, 23 Sep 2004 14:49:43 +0000 From:My Name <me@MyISP.com> To:Abuse <CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET> Subject:Email Abuse Complaint 9/23/2004 10:49:35 AM Reply-To:My Name <me@MyISP.com>
X-DCC-IECC-Metrics: xuxa.iecc.com 1107; Body=1 Fuz1=1 Fuz2=1

Here is the SMTP information.

SMTP Info Start ====================================

Received: from scriptsportal.com (unknown[222.65.113.121](misconfigured sender))
          by sccrmxc19.comcast.net (sccrmxc19) with SMTP
          id <20040922061403s1900cu1upe>; Wed, 22 Sep 2004 06:15:38 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [222.65.113.121]
Message-ID: <0F120324.749350D@scriptsportal.com>
Date: Wed, 22 Sep 2004 09:30:27 +0600
Reply-To: "lawerence ramlakhan" <swessnalzche@scriptsportal.com>
From: "lawerence ramlakhan" <swessnalzche@scriptsportal.com>
User-Agent: aol 3.0 for windows 95 sub 52
X-Accept-Language: en-us
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: "lynn bottgenbach" <midnight1999@comcast.net>
Subject:  Your whole health n_e_eds our precious care
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

It seems the that SprintLink doesn't like mail sent from CTSUMMARY@special.abuse.net. Not good, but I understand what's happening so far. But The only complaint sent yesterday via CTSUMMARY was for a message that originated with Chinanet. Here is the relevant log entry:
QUOTE
Processing - Your whole health n_e_eds our precious care
Received Answer
Evaluating Answer For 222.65.113.121
Referred To    Asia Pacific Network Information Centre
Received Answer
Evaluating Answer For 222.65.113.121
Finding Domains
HOSTMASTER@NS.CHINANET.CN.NET Is In 'Do Not Send List'
IP-ADMIN@MAIL.ONLINE.SH.CN Is In 'Do Not Send List'
Found Domain NS.CHINANET.CN.NET
Received Answer
Evaluating Answer For ABUSE.NET
Finding Email Addresses
ANTI-SPAM@CHINANET.CN.NET
POSTMASTER@CHINANET.CN.NET
CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET
Finished With 222.65.113.121
Connecting to SMTP server
Connect smtp.comcast.net
Sending message Email Abuse Complaint 9/23/2004 10:49:35 AM
Response 220
Sending to ANTI-SPAM@CHINANET.CN.NET
EHLO My username
Response 250
MAIL FROM:<me@MyISP.com>
Response 250
RCPT TO:<ANTI-SPAM@CHINANET.CN.NET>
Response 250
DATA
Response 354
Transmitting Message
Message Transmitted
Response 250
QUIT
Response 221
Email abuse complaint sent to ANTI-SPAM@CHINANET.CN.NET
Connect smtp.comcast.net
Sending message Email Abuse Complaint 9/23/2004 10:49:35 AM
Response 220
Sending to POSTMASTER@CHINANET.CN.NET
EHLO My username
Response 250
MAIL FROM:<me@MyISP.comt>
Response 250
RCPT TO:<POSTMASTER@CHINANET.CN.NET>
Response 250
DATA
Response 354
Transmitting Message
Message Transmitted
Response 250
QUIT
Response 221
Email abuse complaint sent to POSTMASTER@CHINANET.CN.NET
Connect smtp.comcast.net
Sending message Email Abuse Complaint 9/23/2004 10:49:35 AM
Response 220
Sending to CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET
EHLO My username
Response 250
MAIL FROM:<me@MyISP.com>
Response 250
RCPT TO:<CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET>
Response 250
DATA
Response 354
Transmitting Message
Message Transmitted
Response 250
QUIT
Response 221
Email abuse complaint sent to CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET

Why did a complaint sent via CTSUMMARY@special.abuse.net, presumably meant for Chinanet (222.65.113.121) get sent to iecc.com (SDN.IECC.COM 208.31.42.94
LIGHT.LIGHTLINK.COM 205.232.34.1) which reports that Sprintlink (199.0.233.6) doesn't like Abuse.net?

Making things even more complicated, when I look up sprintlink (199.0.233.6) at ARIN I get:
QUOTE
OrgName:    Sprint
OrgID:      SPRN
Address:    12502 Sunrise Valley Dr.
City:      Reston
StateProv:  VA
PostalCode: 20196
Country:    US

NetRange:  199.0.0.0 - 199.3.255.255
CIDR:      199.0.0.0/14
NetName:    NETBLK-SPRINT-BLKA
NetHandle:  NET-199-0-0-0-1
Parent:    NET-199-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
NameServer: NS2-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
NameServer: NS3-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
Comment:    ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate:    1993-09-08
Updated:    2002-07-01

ARIN doesn't provide the nameserver IP's so I look up SPRINTLINK.NET at InterNIC and get this:
QUOTE
Domain Name: SPRINTLINK.NET
  Registrar: ALLDOMAINS.COM INC.
  Whois Server: whois.alldomains.com
  Referral URL: http://www.alldomains.com
  Name Server: NS1-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
  Name Server: NS3-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
  Name Server: NS2-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
  Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
  Updated Date: 10-sep-2003
  Creation Date: 11-may-1992
  Expiration Date: 12-may-2005

So, I look it up at http://www.alldomains.com which coughs this up:
QUOTE
Registrant:
Sprint Communications Company L.P. (DOM-330263)
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US

    Domain Name: sprintlink.net

Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com

    Administrative Contact:
Domain Administrator (NIC-1533363)  Sprint Communications Company L.P.
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US
domain.names@mail.sprint.com
+1.8665052385
Fax- +1.8773880408
    Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Administrator (NIC-1533363)  Sprint Communications Company L.P.
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US
domain.names@mail.sprint.com
+1.8665052385
Fax- +1.8773880408

    Created on..............: 1992-May-11.
    Expires on..............: 2005-May-12.
    Record last updated on..: 2003-Nov-08 01:11:30.

    Domain servers in listed order:

    NS1-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET  206.228.179.10
    NS2-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET  144.228.254.10
    NS3-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET  144.228.255.10


Notice that the IP addresses don't match up. Can anyone help me to understand this? I get the basic WHOIS info, but I can't follow the trail of IP addresses and domain names.

Thanks.
Jeff Hendrickson
Hi Codger,

I can't make sense of this. I see where you pick up the CTSUMMARY@SPECIAL.ABUSE.NET abuse address looking up ns.chinanet.cn.net.

But I don't understand how this is connected to -:
<ct-abuse@abuse.sprint.net>:
199.0.233.6 does not like recipient.

I don't see any reference to ct-abuse@abuse.sprint.net in the list of abuse addresses. Am I missing something?

Regs,
-Jeff ph34r.gif
Codger
QUOTE
Am I missing something?

ohmy.gif Hi Jeff,
If you are, so am I. I'm guessing that Abuse.net has that CTSUMMARY address as a pointer to a list of oddball abuse report addresses like some of the "special instructions" we've seen before, possibly set up for each domain. If so, ct-abuse@abuse.sprint.net may be one of them, or iecc.com, the first recipient.

Here's the Whois for iecc.com (from TUCOWS VIA InterNIC):
QUOTE
OpenSRS Whois Utility

Whois info for, iecc.com:

Registrant:
I.E.C.C.
PO Box 727
Trumansburg, NY 14886
US

Domain name: IECC.COM

Administrative Contact:
    Master, Host  hostmaster@iecc.com
    PO Box 727
    Trumansburg, NY 14886
    US
    16073305711
Technical Contact:
    Master, Host  hostmaster@iecc.com
    PO Box 727
    Trumansburg, NY 14886
    US
    16073305711

Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 29-Mar-2004.
Record expires on 28-Apr-2005.
Record created on 27-Apr-1993.

Domain servers in listed order:
    SDN.IECC.COM  208.31.42.94
    LIGHT.LIGHTLINK.COM  205.232.34.1

Domain status:
REGISTRAR-LOCK

Looking up Lightlink.com at InterNIC gives this result:
QUOTE
Domain Name: LIGHTLINK.COM
  Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
  Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
  Referral URL: http://www.networksolutions.com
  Name Server: LIGHT.LIGHTLINK.COM
  Name Server: MAJESTY.LIGHTLINK.COM
  Name Server: SDN.IECC.COM
  Status: ACTIVE
  Updated Date: 06-sep-2002
  Creation Date: 17-apr-1995
  Expiration Date: 18-apr-2006

Tracing back by looking up 205.232.34.1 yields the same result. I don't see a connection to 199.0.233.6 (Sprint/Sprintlink).

To me, the key must be in the qmail connection
QUOTE
Return-Path: <me@MyISP.com>
Received: (qmail 7615 invoked by uid 170); 23 Sep 2004 14:49:46 -0000
Delivered-To: abuse-special-CTSUMMARY@special.abuse.net
Received: (qmail 7613 invoked from network); 23 Sep 2004 14:49:45 -0000
Received: from rwcrmhc12.comcast.net (216.148.227.85)
  by mail2.iecc.com with SMTP; 23 Sep 2004 14:49:45 -0000

I don't know the workings of this program, maybe you can shed some light on it. My head is spinning from trying to trace all this down, keep track of what's important and follow it. unsure.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.