Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Abuse.net in trouble?
hsc message board > Main > hsc Software Support
Codger
I recently had some complaints bounced because of an incorrect domain name supplied by Abuse.net. First, I sent Jeff a message with the relevant Sp@mX log and APNIC info in the hope that he would come up with one of his brilliant solutions. Then I did an APNIC lookup and got the right one and sent Abuse.net an update message in their preferred format. I included the following in my message to Jeff:
QUOTE
As you can see, Sp@mX came up with "whoever"@CHINANET.CN.NET, while
APNIC has each corresponding recipient as "whoever"@NS.CHINANET.CN.NET.

It looks like Abuse.net has them wrong - again!  I'll take a wild guess and say that ChinaNet's DNS service isn't translating CHINANET.CN.NET to NS.CHINANET.CN.NET any more.  It used to work, but no more.  I'm sorry I don't have any constructive suggestions.

Here's the response I got from Abuse.net:
QUOTE
> CHINANET.CN.NET: anti-spam@ns.chinanet.cn.net

What address do you think I have now?

Regards,
John Levine, postmaster@abuse.net

He apparently thinks he has the correct address. I replied to him with the output from his own database:
QUOTE
Mr. Levine,

Here is the output from your lookup page:

  postmaster@chinanet.cn.net (for chinanet.cn.net)
  anti-spam@chinanet.cn.net (for chinanet.cn.net)
  ctsummary@special.abuse.net (for chinanet.cn.net)

Note that the "ns." is absent following the @.

Sincerely,

It was all very polite, so I'm hoping for a positive outcome. Still, it doesn't inspire hope when the postmaster doesn' check his own database before rejecting an update/correction.
Codger
So much for politeness! All my teachers, not to mention my parents, told me that it counted for a great deal. In this case, Spammers: 1, Spamfighters: 0.

Here's the reply I got and my response:
QUOTE
One would think they were equivalent.  Until this past week anti-spam@chinanet.cn.net was delivered.  A few days ago that address bounced back with the error message: no such addressee.  On a guess, I'd say they instructed their mail server to stop translating the address.

GCF

-----Original Message-----
From: Abuse Net [mailto:postmaster@abuse.net]
Sent: Saturday, September 18, 2004 8:51 PM
To: MadMonk
Cc: 'Abuse Net'
Subject: RE: Chinanet - from APNIC


>  anti-spam@chinanet.cn.net (for chinanet.cn.net)
>
>  Note that the "ns." is absent following the @.

Oh. right.  Mail to chinanet.cn.net and to ns.chinanet.cn.net go to the same server, so as far as I can tell they're equivalent.

Regards,
John Levine, postmaster@abuse.net

At least he replies quickly.
Jeff Hendrickson
I've had dealings with this fellow before. He wasn't very helpful then either. I think he was more interested in telling me about how he was the postmaster for umpty ump domains, than he was in helping me with the issue of that day...

I feel confident that someone other than him is ultimately responsible for this domain. ph34r.gif

They mention the Incredible Electric Calculator Company on their site like it is a 'parent'. Maybe you could try contacting hostmaster at iecc dot com and hope it's not the same fellow...
Codger
Here's his latest response.
QUOTE
> One would think they were equivalent.  Until this past week
> anti-spam@chinanet.cn.net was delivered.  A few days ago that address
> bounced back with the error message: no such addressee.  On a guess,
> I'd say they instructed their mail server to stop translating the
> address.

I just checked and the mail server swallowd them both.

Regards,
John Levine, postmaster@abuse.net

I don't have an answer for this because Sp@mX 2.0.6 got hung on sending to this address (Jeff, see e-mail correspondence from me on this.) I changed the address to "anti-spam@ns.chinanet.cn.net." I should have remembered to leave it at the default Abuse.net address, but I didn't. Not to worry, though. I'm confident I'll get more s*p*a*m from this domain. ph34r.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.