I ran the "WhoIs" tool from Hendricom on a spam today and got the spam mail kicked back in reply like this:
Input: 82.207.40.43
Output:
No match found for Received: from 211.48.62.166 (211.48.62.166) at KTMAIL with ESMTP Hanmir by ktmail4;Sat, 08 Sep 2007 15:30:36 +0900X-MsgID: 1189233036589495.0.ktmail4Message-ID: <1189233036589495.0.ktmail4@ktmail4>Received: from [82.207.40.43] ([82.207.40.43]) by relay6.kornet.net ([211.48.62.166]) with ESMTP id 2007090815:30:34:325684.18852.9232 Sat, 08 Sep 2007 15:30:31 +0900 (KST) Received: from [82.207.40.43] by mx2.webhero.com; Sat, 8 Sep 2007 08:29:59 +0200Date: Sat, 8 Sep 2007 08:29:59 +0200X-RECEIVED-IP: 211.48.62.166From: "Joyce Schaefer" <vbv@boegers.com>X-Mailer: The Bat! (v3.60.07) HomeReply-To: vbv@boegers.comX-Priority: 3 (Normal)Y-Message-ID: <094575576.03863702169230@boegers.com>To: whlee7989@kornet.netSubject: [SPAM] Re:INTERNAL MIME-Version: 1.0Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bitX-TERRACE-SPAMMARK: YES-__TRSYS_LV__3 (SR:-4.35) (SRN:spamrobot) ----------------- Have you ever wanted a expensive Watch?We have the piece for you!We sell all the expensive brands for a very small precentage of the price.www.ajsuhewyy.com82.207.40.43.
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-09-07 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
Contacts:
1189233036589495.0.ktmail4@ktmail4received
vbv@boegers.comx-mailer
vbv@boegers.comx-priority
094575576.03863702169230@boegers.comto
whlee7989@kornet.netsubject
- - - - - -
When I check the address through whois.ripe, the real IP address is displayed, which is in the Ukraine.
So who is poisoning the well here?
Don't worry about munging my e-mail address here; it is not listed thought this appeared in my mail account.
