Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some Nerve!
hsc message board > Main > hsc Software Support
Codger
QUOTE
This email address is for reporting incidents of abuse coming from IP
addresses registered to Charter Communications.  Abuse from IP addresses
not registered to Charter Communications should be directed to the
registered owners of the IP address in question.

The following link should be of assistance in locating the organization
responsible for the IP address:

    http://www.arin.net/whois


Thank you,

Charter High-Speed Internet Security Team



SpamX clearly parsed this header correctly as confirmed both by my own ARIN lookup and SpamCop. My e-mail address doesn't even appear in the header.


QUOTE
Received: from 68-118-148-195.rcp9.ubr1.gri.ne.nebi.com
([68.118.148.195])
          by sccrmxc16.comcast.net (sccrmxc16) with SMTP
          id <20040805133345s1600m287ie>; Thu, 5 Aug 2004 13:33:48 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [68.118.148.195]
Received: from [52.190.208.248] by 68.118.148.195; Thu, 05 Aug 2004 06:39:29 -0500
Message-ID: <0794536734.997556421006165913073@predicate>
From: "Wise Rico" <ivpjxmvs@yahoo.co.uk>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Date: Thu, 05 Aug 2004 06:39:29 -0500
Subject: spam: PAIN MEDICATION...OVERNIGHT SHIPPING
To: Rico <frfranck@comcast.net>
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-tis-spam: =?us-ascii?B?c2NvcmU9MzYuMzUwMDAgKDE1MTA0MSwxNTA5?=
=?us-ascii?B?MDksMTUwMjMzLDExNjIxOCwxMTYzNTEsMTM5MDAzLDExMDU4NCwx?=
=?us-ascii?B?MTA1ODgsMTEyOTAyLDExMzc2MywxMTA2MjYsMTEzMjgwLDExNDQz?=
=?us-ascii?B?MiwxMTA2Mzgp?=


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=Windows-1252"> <META NAME="Generator" CONTENT="MS Exchange Server version 6.0.4630.0"> <TITLE></TITLE> </HEAD> <BODY>
<!-- Converted from text/plain format -->


I replied with this and more. I'm curious to see if/how they reply.
Jeff Hendrickson
Shheeesss!

I'd be very curious about if/how hey reply too! ph34r.gif
Codger
Here's how:
QUOTE
Subject: Abuse Complaint Acknowledgement 


You have reached the Charter High-Speed Internet Security Team.  We have received your abuse complaint.  There is no need to reply to this message.

We are unable to reply personally to all complaints.  We will notify you, however, if additional information is required to process your complaint.

Thank you,

Charter High-Speed Internet Security Team http://security.charter.com

# # #

---Your Original Message Is Below---

Here's the additional information I sent them:
QUOTE
Please confirm your reply.  I checked again and found the following:

  ARIN Search results for: 52.190.208.248

OrgName:    E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co., Inc.
OrgID:      EDPDNC
Address:    E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co., Inc.
Address:    1007 market Street
City:      Wilmington
StateProv:  DE
PostalCode: 19893
Country:    US

NetRange:  52.0.0.0 - 52.255.255.255
CIDR:      52.0.0.0/8
NetName:    DUPONT1
NetHandle:  NET-52-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType:    Direct Assignment
NameServer: APOLLO.LVS.DUPONT.COM
NameServer: DNSAUTH1.SYS.GTEI.NET
NameServer: DNSAUTH2.SYS.GTEI.NET
NameServer: DNSAUTH3.SYS.GTEI.NET
Comment:
RegDate:    1991-12-19
Updated:    2001-04-12

TechHandle: MAW3-ARIN
TechName:  Woodlief, Margaret A.
TechPhone:  +1-540-949-2999
TechEmail:  cg_qip_support@csc.email.dupont.com

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-08-05 19:10

  ARIN Search results for: ! NET-68-118-144-0-1

OrgName:    Charter Communications
OrgID:      CC04
Address:    12405 Powerscourt Dr.
City:      St. Louis
StateProv:  MO
PostalCode: 63131
Country:    US

NetRange:  68.118.144.0 - 68.118.151.255
CIDR:      68.118.144.0/21
NetName:    SCTBL-NE-68-118-144
NetHandle:  NET-68-118-144-0-1
Parent:    NET-68-112-0-0-1
NetType:    Reallocated
Comment:
RegDate:    2002-11-07
Updated:    2003-08-27

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE19-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:  Abuse
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-314-288-3111
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse@charter.net

OrgTechHandle: IPADD1-ARIN
OrgTechName:  IPAddressing
OrgTechPhone:  +1-314-288-3889
OrgTechEmail:  ipaddressing@chartercom.com

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-08-05 19:10

SpamCop Results:

Received:  from 68-118-148-195.rcp9.ubr1.gri.ne.nebi.com
([68.118.148.195]) by sccrmxc16.comcast.net (sccrmxc16) with SMTP id <20040805133345s1600m287ie>; Thu, 5 Aug 2004 13:33:48 +0000 68.118.148.195 found host 68.118.148.195 = 68-118-148-195.rcp9.ubr1.gri.ne.nebi.com (cached) host 68-118-148-195.rcp9.ubr1.gri.ne.nebi.com (checking ip) = 68.118.148.195 Possible spammer: 68.118.148.195 Received line accepted

Received:  from [52.190.208.248] by 68.118.148.195; Thu, 05 Aug 2004 06:39:29 -0500 no from 52.190.208.248 found host 52.190.208.248 (getting name) no name 68.118.148.195 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org 68.118.148.195 listed in cbl.abuseat.org ( 127.0.0.2 ) Open proxies untrusted as relays Tracking message source: 68.118.148.195: Routing details for 68.118.148.195 [refresh/show] Cached whois for 68.118.148.195 : abuse@charter.net Using abuse net on abuse@charter.net abuse net charter.net = abuse@charter.net Using best contacts abuse@charter.net Message is 28 hours old 68.118.148.195 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org 68.118.148.195 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org 68.118.148.195 listed in cbl.abuseat.org ( 127.0.0.2 ) 68.118.148.195 is an open proxy 68.118.148.195 not listed in query.bondedsender.org 68.118.148.195 not listed in iadb.isipp.com

Sincerely,
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.